Yet another social network, but…

November 3, 2007 at 6:52 pm (Library 2.0) (, , )

This one looks great, at least conceptually – I’ll reserve my final judgment for now.  It’s called My Happy Planet, and it’s a language learning social network.  See, isn’t that a great concept?  You have the ability to chat, send messages, or even live voice chat with Skype (provided you have the tech to accomplish this, like a mic and such).  It’s in beta, but i found an invite for it through facebook.  I approached with careful skepticism, because i know some of these social network sites can use a new user as a way to spam that users email contacts.  So far, they haven’t asked to check my email lists, so that’s good.

As far as the site goes, it’s in beta – there are lots of “Coming Soon” signs up over dummy widgets.  But, in the future, you’ll be able to upload language lessons, view other people’s language lessons, chat with people in other languages, and do all those kinds of language learning things.

If you set up a profile, be sure to go through your whole profile and check all the settings – the default in some places is a little on the annoying side, like “Accept Marketing Messages” or something along those lines, authorizing them to send you junk mail.  I guess they have to make their money somehow, right?  You can also make it harder for spammers by only letting your friends send chat invites and so forth.  Because i’m “in beta” about this site, I used my alter ego and not my real birthday to sign up.  I haven’t been able to figure out if there is a stable URL for my profile, but so far it doesn’t look like it.  Once it’s farther along, though, i think you’ll be able to search for members without being a member, so i can post my profile at that point.

Leave a Reply

