Screencasting

July 24, 2007 at 9:14 pm (Uncategorized)

Well, I don’t have Camtasia, because i don’t have 600 bucks. So I’ve been working with some freeware, and not getting very far. Part of the reason of my slow progress has to do with the level of access I have with my PC at work. Without admin access, I can’t just download every plugin and app i need to complete the process. I can request programs be added, and the IT guys are totally cool and help me out. Only, after i’ve added each thing, it seems like something new happens.

So, I have CamStudio, which is an open source screencapture software. I’m working on trying to figure out how to edit clips into a little movie, but it’s slow going. In the mean time, I’ve been trying Jing. Jing has a great user interface, but it’s made for single takes – you capture a short activity on a page, hit the stop button, and upload it to Jing. Jing gives you a URL, which you post to a blog or email. Other people click on it and get your screencast. But what if i want to create a multistep process, or edit my clips to save space?  Plus, every time I get the next app or plugin for Jing, I come up against something else i need.

<deep sigh>

I’m working on a screencasting section for the wiki, but i don’t want to do too much with it if i can’t figure out how to make it work!

2 Comments

  1. chadwick said,

    Sam,
    I have been playing with all of freeware for a year or so. CamStudio may seem okay, but it does have some drawbacks – as you are finding. I found a great review site a few years ago that compared the major software packages and found the BBFlashback app.
    http://www.bbsoftware.co.uk/bbflashback.aspx

    It is relatively inexpensive ($200) and we bought two licenses. It works great and is robust enough to give you the functionality you need. If you can’t get that in the budget, you may be stuck with CamStudio or Wink. Keep us posted.

  2. supercrazylibrarianguy said,

    Thanks chadwick – I haven’t done much with Wink, yet – maybe I’ll try them out, too. Of course, I’ll look at BBFlashback too, but even $200 dollars is out of my budget range. That’s what makes problem solving fun!

Leave a Reply

