facebook

June 27, 2007 at 12:53 am (Uncategorized)

back in the day, I had a how-to for Facebook on my wiki.  I took it off after a while because it didn’t really say much and i didn’t know enough about Facebook to feel like I’d shown people anything they couldn’t figure out for themselves with ten minutes to spare.  Lately I’ve been working more on Facebook, and have really come to appreciate the differences between facebook on MySpace.  I prefer Facebook any more, although i just read/heard something somewhere… I’ll have to track it down… about how High School aged kids tend towards one or the other based on their social type – outsiders tend to use MySpace while jocks and well-to-do kids tend towards Facebook.  Ah.  Here’s the paper that started all the blogosphere buzz:

http://www.danah.org/papers/essays/ClassDivisions.html 

But I understand if you don’t want to read the whole thing.  Skip to the good parts by reading the Boing Boing article.

4 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    Thanks for posting this — I saw it on metafilter a few days ago but didn’t quite get around to reading it or their discussion on it. Dana is the bomb. She’s awesome. I’ve been on & off following her stuff for a couple of years & she always has good insight.

    I remember when Facebook hit the college scene, I was a graduate student & singularly uninterested as it was being pushed for undergrad. I think it’s really funny now that many of the social network folks in my online sphere of interaction are starting the “ok, so who else is on facebook” in the last three or so months. Interesting to watch how social networking spreads. 🙂

  2. Benjamin Fasching-Gray said,

    My feeling is that facebook is definitely snobbier. It started out only for Harvard kids or something, right? and then they slowly and painfully alowed the rest of us losers to join. The whole reason why Myspace took off so fast was because you could instantly turn your profile into a CSS monster with millions of simultaneously loading animated GIFs and videos and music files etc. I read a post somewhere complaining about Myspace, saying it looked like a flea market or a garage sale or a lawn covered with gnomes and that’s all stuff I like. Myspace is full of Iraq war veterans and their cheatin’ wives. Facebook is exclusively liberal arts students and would like to stay that way.

  3. Laurie said,

    I’ve been doing some research on facebook and recently posted this blog entry about facbeook and its recent changes:
    http://infodoodads.com/?p=118
    In addition, I just read an article that in the past year Facebook has doubled its membership/use while MySpace has gone down 30%. MySpace still has more members, but I don’t think that will last long.

  4. supercrazylibrarianguy said,

    Thanks for the comments, Laurie, Benjamin and Susie – I agree that Facebook is a little snooty, and MySpace is like the weird uncle. I think Facebook has more possibilities for professional networking than MySpace does, so it might be more easily adopted by libraries for both public and institutional functions. I have two MySpace pages, and it’s the only way I have of contacting some of my friends, but I use Facebook to network with librarians.

Leave a Reply

