New all-encompassing thingy

June 10, 2007 at 8:53 pm (Uncategorized)

http://www.profilefly.com/

This could be a nice move in the direction of keeping track of everything in one place.  Or, maybe it’s just an early application of the idea, which will be improved upon by another software company in six weeks, and we can all migrate as a crowd from site to site, until we’re just tired of moving and whichever site happens to be in vogue that week will be the one that succeeds because no one wants to move any more.

Or not.  I guess I’m just tired of social networks today.  My focus for the last week or two has been on practical, practical, practical, and most social networks just aren’t terribly practical for work use, at least not where i work.  So they’re interesting and there are possibilities, but I need to focus on getting the people around me to use some of the basics, otherwise what am i doing all the rest for?

2 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    Looks like the myspace version of OpenID which has been around a while.

    Did you ever see that site where you sign up for a profile for the sheer desire to create a profile? It was awesome. I can’t remember what it was called now, & I didn’t sign up. But it was still awesome.

    I saw something last week that made me think “ooh, I should send that to Sam!” but I can’t remember what it was now. I guess if it was something you should see, it’ll come back to me…

  2. supercrazylibrarianguy said,

    Yeah, I’m starting to feel like I’ve hit a critical mass of certain kinds of sites. I’m interested in sites that really are going to be different from other sites, that fill a niche that needs filling, etc. This blog, for me has become my hub of online work – I’ve got all my profiles to other sites in the sidebar, and a widget of deliciousness. I do wish that i could add more widgets willynillly to the sidebar, but maybe it’s better at this point not to. Besides, I’ve got Pantacosm for adding willy nilly widgets.

Leave a Reply

