response to Librarian in Black post

May 28, 2007 at 2:22 am (Uncategorized)

Her post is here.

As of this moment, I have 22 profiles floating around out there.  I keep track of them at my blog, in the blogroll.   I’ll probably get 20 more by the time this year is over. I don’t have time for them all, but i don’t intend to spend more time than i have to at one or antother.  I just want to know why they’re there and how they work.

My philosophy with the whole thing is that right now social networking is expanding – the first big hits in social networking (like MySpace, flickr, YouTube) are these massive, brainless beasts with no sense of direction.  This paved the way for specialty social networks – ComicSpace, Oort Cloud, etc.  And for improvements on existing themes – Twitter, LinkedIn, Technorati.  All these new incarnations fill niches not viable with the big beasties.  Two years down the road, I would be willing to bet that ninety percent of them will be defunct or failing or just squeaking by, for the exact reason that everyone here is talking about – no one has time for all of them.  On the other hand, I don’t know which of the huge numbers of social networking sites will survive the next big bubble burst.  Further, I have nothing but my instincts to back up my impressions.  And finally, trying out all of these different sites is giving me an interesting perspective on what might be down the road: (Warning!  Sci-Fi Nerd Alert!)  Something like SecondLife – a 3-D virtual environment, with feeds and alerts and widgets that funnel information to you from various places and update those other various places automatically from where you are at.  Maybe audio messages/phone calls in world.

Oh, and if we’re not where the people are, then where are we?

Leave a Reply

