social networking/blogs

May 23, 2007 at 1:55 am (Uncategorized)

lots of social networks have blogs attached to them.  Do people use them?  I don’t know.  MySpace folks use their blogs a bit, I think.  LiveJournal is oldschool, but it’s a social network of bloggers.  A little clunky in places, but lots of people like that about it.  Just heard about Xanga, which is a social network of diaries and journals.  So, LiveJournal with more social networking stuff attached to it.  And it appears to be very popular with the young people.  This after I just read the over 40% of MySpace users are late 30’s – early 40’s.   Link to that post.

I’ll probably have to get a Xanga account, just to add it to my collection and see what it’s all about.  I wonder what percentage of accounts on social networks are people like me who just wonder what it’s all about, vs. people who actually want to use the tools.

4 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    Xanga & LJ are pretty much equivs as far as the social networking aspect. It seems to me there was one more out there besides MySpace, BlogSpot, Xanga, & LJ, but I can’t remember what it was right now… Oh! DiaryLand. Do you have an LJ yet? Paul & I would “friend” you.

  2. supercrazylibrarianguy said,

    Okay, okay, I’ll get an LJ, but that would be my fourth blog, so i don’t know how often I’ll update there. On the other hand, I’d be able to comment on your LJ pages, so that’s a big bonus! I’ll check out DiaryLand and see what’s up there too.

  3. Susan said,

    Oh pleeez. Just use it to comment on us. 🙂 And make Jeff do it too (at least for Paul). I totally understand not updating everywhere — that’s why I never do anything on myspace. I’ve got lj & lepismatidae mirroring it & I just don’t have that much more to say, nor updating inclination. There’s a number of interesting library folks on my friends page too (um, and some not-so-much safe fpr work people as well, so tread carefully!).

  4. jermaine propane said,

Leave a Reply

