Back again again

April 23, 2007 at 2:24 am (Uncategorized)

Well, I got back from vacation and then I got sick.  What’s a feller to do?  I’m back again, though and things should be back on an even keel again.  Hopefully.  Here are some updates:

The wiki is at a good spot.  I feel like I could keep expanding it, but I’d rather focus now on making it really tight and adaptable.  I’m not sure how I’m going to go about that yet without some sort of feedback from readers or users.  That could take a while, but I have some avenues of research.

I’ve created profiles all over the place, and I’m looking at more new social networking and social searching and social everything sites all the time.

I’m going to start working on a new project pretty soon, maybe a more elaborate wiki page (with pictures!) to address the myriad questions and concerns librarians everywhere have regarding the question of how to offer computer classes to their patrons and staff.  Any good links/articles/ideas, just pass them along to me, or wait until the wiki gets started, and add your own content!

That’s about it for the moment.

2 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    I’ll put forth some feedback — that’s a really long page with a lot of scrolling!

    You might consider making the Table of Contents your side nav bar & each topic a new page (yep, even for each of the tutorials). That would encourage other folks who comprehend the purpose of the wiki to contribute their own tips to the topics at hand a little more easily. Even I would be a little intimidated at this point to try to add anything in there because there’s just so much there already. I could see some concern there about that “expanding” it, but it’s not adding new content, just breaking out what you have (which is a really nice collection of stuff) into more manageable chunks.

    The only thing you might want to consider adding is a page for user/reader feedback.

    I have a fairly substantial network of folks who might be interested in taking a look at this, both from an IA pov as well as folks in various & sundry library situations, if you like I can put this “out on my wires”.

    Nice work here Sam!

  2. supercrazylibrarianguy said,

    That’s a great idea, breaking this up into it’s separate parts – that way it will be easier for people to pick and choose what order and which programs they want to pursue. Wikis do have the “discussion” tab, which i will encourage users to look at as they’re thinking about additions and/or changes that could be made.

    Having more eyes looking at the page would be great, particularly if they’re people who have opinions about things, and aren’t afraid of expressing them! 🙂

    Thanks for the input!

Leave a Reply

